The 2013 Finalists

Houston Tomorrow‘s finalists for catalytic change agents in the following categories:

Emeritus, A person who was or has been a recognized force for change
Howard W. Horne, Sr.
The 2013 Emeritus Catalyst Award was awarded to Mr. Howard Horne. Mr. Horne was widely respected in Houston for his work with the real estate and development community, as owner and Chairman of the Horne Company, as well as being one of the key catalysts in the formation of the Rice Center.  Mr. Horne was a lifelong tireless supporter of public transit and successfully led the campaign to create the Houston Metropolitan Transit Authority (METRO) and he served as its first chairman from 1977 to 1981.

The following were last year’s finalists in the following categories. One winner was chosen in each category.

Excellence, A long-term champion of quality of life who is now a recognized provocateur
Jim Blackburn
Jeff Taebel

Engaged, A thought leader who has a clear change agenda
Keiji Asakura
Rick Lowe
Laura Murillo
Michael Skelly

Evolving, New on the scene and shaking things up
Bobby Heugel
Carra Moroni
Ian Rosenberg
Laura Spanjian

Emerging, Students who have sharp ideas and the ability to express them
There are two categories, College Award and a High School Award.  Each winning submission will receive a $1,000 cash award.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *